Radiohead – Pablo Honey


As I mentioned in my previous post, this week I will undertake to blog about each Radiohead album individually (in chronological order) because I made the statement that I’m a bigger fan of Radiohead’s older stuff than their newer in the presence of a friend that feels the exact opposite. I’m happy to say that the disagreement didn’t get ugly, because both he and I have been known to be fairly opinionated when it comes to Thom and his radio boys. But I started thinking about it and decided to revisit my opinion to see if at the end of this musical journey I will still feel the same way.

I’ll try not to nerd out on you guys and give way too much detail here but after driving around on this beautiful spring day (windows down, mind you) blasting Creep, Thinking About You, Vegatible and the other tracks from Radiohead’s 1993 Freshman album, I have to say that it does hold a very special place in my heart. Of course in ’93 I was only 5 so it’s safe to assume that I wasn’t running around listening to brit-rock (unless you count the beatles) in my kindergarden days. I didn’t discover Radiohead until the release of OkComputer in 1997 at the ripe age of 9, so Pablo Honey doesn’t really strike the same sentimental chord that some of their other albums but I can’t deny that they have some really great tracks. For instance, the second track ‘Creep’ is a five star song for me, and my favorite off the album. But other tracks I would consider to be great are “Stop Whispering”, “Ripcord”, and “Lurgee” (meaning ‘sickness or ailment’ just in case you were wondering). The last track “Blow Out” reminds me a lot of their more recent stuff, less electronic of course but it certainly has some of the same untertones. Over all this isn’t my favorite Radiohead album, but it’s certainly not a bad way to start off a musical career!

Tomorrow, The Bends… looking forward to it!

Chow!

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Uncategorized

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

2 Comments on “Radiohead – Pablo Honey”

  1. March 29, 2010 at 2:35 am #

    Can’t wait till Kid A! 😀

    • March 29, 2010 at 4:48 am #

      My first comment!!! Woohoo! I know I’m probably ditching all blogger web-cred by saying that but I don’t really care!

      I can’t wait either! Kid A is amazing!

Thoughts?

