Radiohead – In Rainbows


Well here we are at the end of a musical journey together, so let me just say it’s been great. You’ve all been nice enough to respect any of my opinions (and Lord knows I have a few) that may differ from yours, and I certainly do appreciate it dolls!

So getting down to business here… In Rainbows is the most recent album released by the infamous Radiohead. It’s October 2007 release date was shockingly announced by Jonny Greenwood (guitarist) ten days before the digital release was to take place. Since the band had officially fulfilled their six record contract with EMI they released it independently on their website as a digital download at whatever price you felt like paying. Way to stick it to the man guys… I don’t know how much money they made but even if someone decided to pay nothing for the album it still counted it as a sale and putting it’s album sales at 1.2 MILLION albums in the first day. Pure genius I tell you, pure unadulterated genius! Ok sorry, I suppose that’s enough with the geeky distribution/label jabber…

I think this is my favorite of the post OkComputer albums, I’ve been trying to figure out why but I’m not sure I have a good reason nailed down yet. Honestly, I think I simply enjoy the melodies more on this album than I did with Hail To The Thief or Amnesiac. Of course the entire album is very electronic but it seems to communicate more emotion than some of their earlier ‘electronic’ stuff. My favorite track is without a doubt All I Need but Videotape is a close second. If you haven’t checked it out I would suggest that you watch the music video to All I Need, it dramatically changed how I perceived the song. Although those two are probably my favorite tracks off of the album none of the tracks received less than three out of five stars in my ipod’s rating system, not a bad album average. I loved the album when I first bought it but when I saw the songs performed live it brought an entirely new grasp of it. Of course that’s not an uncommon effect of any well performed show, but I couldn’t have you thinking that Thom let me walk away with nothing that night! Anyway, I don’t have much more to say about the album and it’s getting late so anything else I add here will most likely become more and more incoherent, I’ll spare you that.

Like I said, this has been great! We should do it again sometime, and I don’t mean that in a superficial end-of-an-awkward-first-date sort of way, I really mean it! Maybe the next time I have enough energy to take on a blogging challenge we can do The Beatles? Ha, yeah maybe next month… or maybe it can be our celebratory blog series if the world doesn’t end in 2012, and if it does then at least I didn’t have to face bitting of WAY more than I can chew!

Don’t worry this isn’t the end of my blogging, just our time with the head of radio… or until their next masterpiece finds it’s way into our hearts and ipods!

Until next time,
Predictably Me

Categories: Uncategorized

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

One Comment on “Radiohead – In Rainbows”

  1. April 5, 2010 at 5:40 am #

    I love “All I Need” too!!! But, my favorite off the album is “Weird Fishes”.

Thoughts?

