Two Door Cinema Club – Tourist History


These boys from Northern Ireland have succeeded in making a pretty amazing debut on the music scene with their newly released album “Tourist History”, I can’t say that it blew my mind at first but it certainly piqued my interest and it’s grown into one of my favorites over the last few months. Apparently the name came from one of the members mispronouncing the local theater’s name “Tudor Cinema” and eventually it stuck.

Usually have a hard time with bands that use synth/electronic beats instead of a drummer but this three man band is an exception. Apparently the album has exploded in europe and isn’t doing too bad here either. They’ve recently made itune’s “up and coming” artist list and will also be at Austin City Limits this year (if anyone wants to bless me by buying my ticket and mind controlling my boss into letting me take off for ACL you’ll be my hero).

Like I said they don’t have a drummer so they have an electronic feel but not in an Owl City sort of way. Some of the opening tracks like Cigarettes In The Theater and Come Back have more of a Mew vibe, especially in the vocal style, but later in the album it all seems to become less moody an more light hearted, perhaps a little more in the realm of Vampire Weekend but don’t quote me on that until you listen to it!

Here are a few tracks I was able to find on ProjectPlaylist.com: Two Door Cinema Club Project Playlist

Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Best Albums Of 2k10 « Predictably Me - December 30, 2010

    […] for some of you but it’s crazy fun and will always leave you in a good mood. Read review here. Something Good Can […]

Thoughts?

