Sun Kil Moon – Admiral Fell Promises


So I don’t know if any of you are Sun Kil Moon fans but you should be. If don’t know of them you still might remember their song “Carry Me Ohio” circa 2003. They’re generally known for being pretty mellow with sultry vocals and the most chillaxed and beautiful guitar parts you’re  bound to come across outside of a Seigfried Behrend album.

Now although the album was put out by Sun Kil Moon it isn’t actually the entire band. All of the guitar parts were written and recorded by front man Mark Kozelek (formerly of Red House Painters) on his nylon guitar. I can’t say I like the idea of an entire album of nylon guitar playing but he made it work.

This isn’t one of those albums that I think everybody would want to own but I think it’s certainly worth checking out. I particularly love Half Moon Bay, Church Of The Pines, and the title track Admiral Fell Promises. If you like listening to classical guitar parts then you’d probably love this, but if not then you may find it to be a bit of a snoozer.

Warning the songs do last from 5-7 minutes so you’ve got to be pretty committed. Anyway, It’s been my tried and true stress relief this week and it’s well worth checking out.

Side note: I’d love to have a series of prints with each album’s art work… if anyone wants to make that happen then you have my  blessing.

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

3 Comments on “Sun Kil Moon – Admiral Fell Promises”

  1. August 9, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

    Hey Madison,

    Cool post. Ostensibly, I’m a bit more of a fan of songs driven by nylon strings than you, but I agree that Kozelek pulls things off very well insofar as AFP goes.

    I wrote a post a couple of weeks ago looking at some of Kozelek’s other projects ( http://malleusincus.wordpress.com/2010/07/21/painting-houses-and-bantamweight-boxing/ ), and I’m glad to see he is getting some more coverage on the blogosphere.

    I’ll definitely be checking out your other posts – if your twitter and this post are any indication, I’ll thoroughly enjoy your blog as a whole.

    – John

    • August 10, 2010 at 4:46 am #

      Thanks for reading John! I took the liberty of reading some of your posts and I believe I will enjoy reading you’re blog as well! You boys in Malleus&Incus seem to have a broad range of tastes and I greatly appreciate this attribute!

      I’m actually a pretty big fan of nylon string guitars (when played well) but I don’t meet many who do so I was a bit hesitant to strongly recommend it here… after all, I know what it’s like to have a college student’s music budget and I wouldn’t want someone to be less than in love with an album purchase because I failed to warn them that when I say “amazing guitar parts” I don’t mean they’re getting the next Carlos Santana.

      My dad is a phenomenal guitar player and I absolutely love it when he pulls out his nineteenth century mexican made nylon string guitar… it’s such a unique sound!

      Thanks for reading! I do believe this may be the start of a beautiful blogger camaraderie…

      • August 10, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

        Carlos Santana is overrated (kidding, that is just blasphemous) – check out Antoine Dufour or Andy Mckee, though. Or Sungha Jung for that matter 😀

        I’m jealous about your father – I can’t say my parents are particularly musically inclined. However, I do look forward to this blog companionship. Check out your twitter direct messages!

Thoughts?

