Colin Meloy Sings Morrissey


It’s like ice cream and french fries… it sounds like two elements that shouldn’t be combined but when you finally experience it you’re never the same.

I know many of you music connoisseurs out there probably already have and/or know about this little collection of covers but I would be lacking in my blogging if I didn’t tell you about it just in case your ears haven’t been blessed with it yet.

Colin Meloy (lead singer of the ever creative and unpredictable Decemberists) covers six Morrissey songs on this 2005 release. With nothing but a cheap sounding nylon guitar and his melodic soprano voice. If you’re looking for a grand studio production then you’re barking up the wrong album sleeve, but if it’s straight forward feeling, creativity, and great song writing that you’re looking for then this may be for you.

All of the tracks are good but I have a particular love for Jack The Ripper… of course no one can beat Morrissey but Colin’s style is so different that I would hardly consider the two versions to be the same song. Of course if you don’t listen to Morrissey then I suggest you do so BEFORE listening to covers of it… even if you don’t fall in love with Morrissey it’s better to hear the original first. If you like this then you may want to check out his other solo EP’s such as Colin Meloy Sings Sam Cooke, etc.

I think the only cover album that could make me happier is if someone told me that Sufjan was releasing an album full of Billy Joel covers, you don’t even have to listen to it to have your mind blown. Speaking of ol’ Suffy boy, officially have tickets to see my beloved Sufjan Stevens in Austin on October 19th!!! I may or may not have squealed like a school girl when I got them… just sayin’.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

One Comment on “Colin Meloy Sings Morrissey”

  1. August 11, 2010 at 4:45 am #

    Hey again Madison,

    First off… french fries and ice cream, eh? I may have to try it. I’d imagine milkshake + fries would be acceptable as well?

    Secondly, I applaud your blog productivity – I’ve been waiting for someone else from malleus&incus to post because I feel like triple posting with a blog with 9 writers is just silly, so I’ve been wallowing waiting to post. Do you think I should just go for it?

    As far as Mr. Meloy goes, good pick once again. I prefer Colin Meloy Sings Shirley Collins – his voice puts an entirely new spin on songs I’m not too familiar with, so it is almost as if you’re listening to something completely new. However, I do agree about Jack the Ripper – one of my favorite Morissey songs and well done on Meloy’s part.

    Stop rubbing in the whole Sufjan deal… I’ve been listening to him all evening lamenting my slowness in grabbing tickets.

    P.S. Clever line with the ‘barking up the wrong album sleeve’ – I love twists on old idioms/ cliches.

Thoughts?

