Dan Auerbach – Keep It Hid


I thought about blogging about The Black Keys because, well, they’re simply amazing. But with their songs being featured on various popular soundtracks lately *cough*eclipse*cough* I figure that if you’re in the market for some new tunes you’ve already found that little jem. However, you might not be aware of Dan Auerbach’s (ohio born lead singer for BK’s) solo shiz… And it’s gooooodddd stuff.

I would recommend his Keep It Hid album which has a strong Black Key’s vibe to some of it, which in turn I would describe as grungey blues rock reminiscent of Creedence Clearwater Revival or Led Zeppelin in their Mothership days. But some of the slower tracks such as Going Home and Trouble Weighs A Ton remind me more of something to be found on a Ray LaMontagne album.

For all the gear-geeks, tone-analyzers , and tech-heads out there Dan generally goes between using an Ibanez SG, Harmony H77 and a fender telecaster Jerry Donahue with DiMarzio twin-blade humbuckers.

I can’t give you much more than that other than my sound recommendation that this is an album to have in what I’m sure is a very extensive, as well as impressive, repertoire of albums. Dan-o here definitely has a few songs on my life soundtrack… all the scenes with soul.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

One Comment on “Dan Auerbach – Keep It Hid”

  1. August 13, 2010 at 4:35 am #

    Auerbach is such a sick guitarist. I don’t know if I hear the Ray LaMontagne on the slower tracks – maybe a bit more of a slightly more jagged and jaded Joe Purdy or something?

    That said, have you listened to the NPR stream of the new Ray LaMontagne album? It is fabulous!

    P.S. Life soundtrack? Sounds cool, where can I get one?

Thoughts?

