Brandon Flowers – Flamingo


Calling all Killers fans…

As many of you probably know, The Killers’s lead singer Brandon Flowers announced last year that he would be making a solo album.  Personally I wasn’t too happy about this little career detour and to be truthful I didn’t really want to like the album. The only “going solo” I really support is when a member wants to pursue a different style of music that the rest of the band doesn’t support. But a friend of mine recommended that I give it a try and sent it to me so why not right? It’s not much of a deviation from the classic Killers vibe that we all know and some love, but the recording and production is stellar. Translation? I’m slightly annoyed with Flowers but I love the album as if it were a new Killers album.

Of course I don’t know all the circumstances behind the band taking a break. I’m sure it’s much needed after the constant recording and touring over the last few years. But I just hope that Brandon doesn’t decided to try and pull a Rob Thomas here and spend the next few years ignoring his band by trying to soak up some radio pop glory.

Personally I detect hints of Morrissey on tracks like “Swallow It” and in certain vocal styling.  And I even detect some Billy Joel vibes in some of it, especially on “Was It Something I Said?” Lyrically the album is very holistic in it’s Las Vegas imagery and borderline blasphemous biblical references but I have to say that I liked it a lot. I’d even dare to claim that there’s an underlying country feel to a lot of the lead guitar work but I don’t want that to scare any of you countryphobes off, I promise that it’s very tasteful.

After a couple of listens I’d have to say that “Only The Young” is my favorite track… but “Jilted Lovers & Broken Hearts” runs a close second.

That’s all for now folks!

P.S. If you’re like me and want to know who the Jenny-Lewis-wannabe doing  vocals on “Hard Enough” is then you may be interested to know that it’s Jenny Lewis…

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Best Albums Of 2k10 « Predictably Me - December 30, 2010

    […] what’s a rock star to do? He is who he is and he plays what he plays. Good stuff. Read Review Here. Only The […]

  2. The Naked & Famous – Passive Me, Agressive You « Predictably Me - April 7, 2011

    […] of The Killers had a song titled “Jilted Lovers & Broken Hearts” on his album Flamingo, but the albums were released so closely together that I doubt there’s any connection… […]

  3. The Naked & Famous – Passive Me, Aggressive You – Album « New Music Monkey - April 7, 2011

    […] of The Killers had a song titled “Jilted Lovers & Broken Hearts” on his album Flamingo, but the albums were released so closely together that I doubt there’s any connection… […]

Thoughts?

