Kanye West – My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy


Alright, urrbody. Here we go. The new Kanye. The bro we love, hate, and love again. Initial album reaction: Awesome! Later thoughts: this album may contain subliminal brainwashing messages….but still awesome! In a very well stated comment by Pitchfork, “[this album is] less mom-friendly and more of a hedonistic exploration into a rich and famous American id.” Featuring artists from my man Hova, John Legend, and Beyonce to Bon Iver, it’s a strong follow-up to his 2008 release 808’s and Heartbreak. I pretty much like every track for different reasons, and since you don’t need to know my thoughts on everything, I encourage you to check it out and decide for yourself. With that, I’ll list off my top 5 fave tracks:

1)  “All of the Lights” – includes vocals from: Rihanna, Alicia Keys, John Legend, Elly Jackson, Fergie, Kid Cudi, Elton John, etc. Um, yeah. Seriously. The crazy-go-nuts beat doesn’t hurt either.
2)  “Blame Game” – so true, so haunting. Melodic sadness sampled from Aphex Twin, soul brought to you by John Legend.
3)  “Lost in the World” – samples “Woods” by Bon Iver and features Justin Vernon himself. It’s difficult to articulate my excitement as this realization dawned on me when I listening through the album for the first time.
4)  “Runaway” – homage to the fact that he is who he is. Just one example of the lyrical honesty that is surprising but refreshing throughout the album.
5)   “Power” – “My childlike creativity, purity, and honesty is honestly being crowded by these grown thoughts/ Reality is catching up with me, taking my inner child, I’m fighting for custody.”

Kanye West’s lyrical skill lies in his ability to layer his proclamations of awesomeness with self-criticizing comments regarding his failures…and this album features great/offensive/true/relatable/tragic examples of both. Check it.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

2 Comments on “Kanye West – My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy”

  1. November 29, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

    I love the album cover… it’s so out of the norm for a hip hop album. Kanye’s always gotta be shakin’ things up!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Best Albums Of 2k10 « Predictably Me - December 30, 2010

    […] Fantasy – Kanye West So beautiful. So dark. So twisted. So fantastic. Read Audrey’s Review here. Blame Game (ft. Bon […]

Thoughts?

