Musical Advent countdown – Day 1


Initial statement: I hate Christmas music.

Disclaimer/excuse for the scroogieness of initial statement: I love the weather, sweaters, decorations, and Starbucks drinks that mark the much anticipated arrival of the holiday season, but I’m notorious for being a total Scrooge when it comes to being forced to endure the cheesy commercialized jingles that are played in every shopping mall across America to perpetuate a yuletide educed shopping frenzy. But I digress…

So here’s what I’m going to do. I will be posting a short blurb every day about a different Holiday song/EP/album that I can actually stomach, maybe even admit to liking. This doesn’t mean that the normal album reviews will be put on hold I’m just deciding to supplement a bit. If you’re like me and are always searching for some seasonal music to play at your Christmas parties that will give you both class and indie cred in the holiday department then hopefully this will be of some use to you!

Day 1

Predictable I know. But I’m going to go with Sufjan’s Holiday collection Songs Of Christmas. If you’re unfamiliar with it then allow me to give you the best tip you’ll get this season: Get it now. Like immediately.

It’s a five volume EP set featuring Sufjan and various friends singing both classic christmas songs and original holiday inspired works. Now I know that’s a lot of jubilous jams for the new listener to take in so here are a couple to start with.

My personal favorites off the album are:

That Was The Worst Christmas Ever – I love this one any time of the year. Classic Sufjan brilliance. Warning: It’s not your traditional holiday song.

Holy, Holy, Holy – Everything’s better when Sufjan does it.

Sister Winter – Another not strictly xmas song but still amazing.

Only At Christmas Time – A Sufjan original but much more hymn like than some of his other holiday tracks.

Come On Let’s Boogie To The Elf Dance! – Fun stuff. “Santa Clause is coming, hear the banjo strumming”

What Child Is This Anyway? – Same song, new vibe, slightly altered title.

I think you get the point. Others to check out are: It’s Christmas Time, Did I Make You Cry On Christmas Day? (Well You Deserved It!), and Get Behind Me, Santa.

Enjoy!

That Was The Worst Christmas Ever

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

2 Comments on “Musical Advent countdown – Day 1”

  1. December 2, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    excellent idea. Looking forward to seeing your choices for Christmas music as I absolutely abhor most of it. However, Dustin Kensrue changed everything, but maybe I’ll save that for if he makes the cut 🙂

    On a side note, I ran across this video yesterday. I *think* this guy wrote this song about a modern day Mary and Joseph. Trying to find out more about it, but I’m in love with it.

    http://vimeo.com/7922794

    • December 3, 2010 at 4:45 am #

      That’s a pretty cool song. Maybe he did write it himself because I’ve certainly never heard it before. Let me know what you find out!

Thoughts?

