Best Albums Of 2k10


I’d say it’s been a pretty good year in my musical world… and a pretty good year other wise too! I’m about as blessed as a girl can be and the end of the year always makes me incredibly aware of it! But enough of the mushy stuff… let’s get down to the nitty gritty! Here’s my list and some musical morsels. I put them in chronological order mostly because I couldn’t decide which ones I like best!

January

July Flame – Laura Viers
Ok starting off January (would have been cool if it were released in July though…) Love, love, love this album! Mellow to be sure but if you can appreciate a beautiful melody then it’s sure to hold your attention.
July Flame

Teen Dream – Beach House
I love putting them on the same playlist with Local Natives (alas Local Natives released their album in late 2009) I liked the album when I first heard it but I’ve been amazed at how much I have continued to listen to it even a year later!
Norway

Contra – Vampire Weekend
This is a fun album and I’ve been pleased to hear some of these songs making it onto movies over the last yeah… good stuff, I’m just glad someone in Hollywood knows it too!
Oxford Comma

February

Trespassers – Kashmir
It’s true that I would love just about anything Kashmir released, but even if these danish darlings didn’t hold such a tender place in my heart I would love this album. I got to see them at SXSW in Austin this year… it was quite the treat to say the least.
Still Boy

Sigh No More – Mumford & Sons
This little number made AmazonMP3’s best album of 2010 and I’m not going to argue with them! Give it a listen and see for yourself!
Little Lion Man

The LadderAndrew Belle
No one tell Sufjan but…. I think I may be in love with this guy, or his voice at least. Read review here.
Oh My Stars

March

I Speak Because I CanLaura Marling
I know this was released in March but I just found it a few weeks ago… for once itunes actually predicted my tastes well.
Rambling Man

Tourist History Two Door Cinema Club
This is the freshman album from a couple of Irish boys. It may be a bit electronic for some of you but it’s crazy fun and will always leave you in a good mood. Read review here.
Something Good Can Work

Hadestown – Anias Mitchell
This one is hard to explain but if you want to know more about it you can check out my review from earlier this year HERE. It may be under Anias’s name but it features other great artists like Justin Vernon (aka Bon Iver).
If It’s True

Winter Of Mixed Drinks – Frightened Rabbit
Now I can’t say that I’ve loved much from this ever more popular Scottish band but this album is pretty spectacular. Read Review here.
The Wrestle

April

In Memory Of Loss – Nathaniel Rateliff
I had the pleasure of seeing him play here at a tiny little venue here in Houston over the summer and I was smitten. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen or heard anything so honest. Simply honest.
Early Spring Till

Weathervanes – Freelance Whales
A full band of multi-instrumentalists who were nothing but gracious to the sold out crowd at their first ever Houston show. I was impressed with them not only as people but as musicians. I even decided to show my support by buying a tshirt that was overpriced and doesn’t fit me all that well… now that’s love.
Broken Horse

The Beaten Sea – The Beaten Sea
Check out my review from earlier this year Here. They come from Dallas (many members of the Dallas Family Band musical collaboration/group). Fun, twangy, talented…. what more do you need?
Doctor’s Not Gonna Cure Our Ills

Go – Jonsi
I also got to see this icelandic wonder (frontman for Sigur Ros) play live this year. It was magnificent… the lights and production of the whole thing was top notch but it was still outdone by the talent of all the musicians. Pure emotion I tell you. Read Review Here.
Go Do

Suburban Nature – Sarah Jaffe
Another Dallas-oid and up and coming star. I know I sound like a broken record but I saw this gal play in a pub a few months ago and it was captivating. This one has got some sass… and a fair bit o’ talent too. I was very happy to see that both she and Nathaniel Rateliff made it into Amazon’s top albums of the year, they so deserve it! Read review here.
Better Than Nothing

June

Catching A Tiger Lissie
This is one of my favorites of the year… She has a Fleetwood Mac feel but if you’re going to follow in someone’s musical footsteps I’d say Stevie Nicks is a good set of tracks to follow. Read review here.
In Sleep

Recovery – Eminem
Admittedly, old Marshall Mathers strikes a chord in the heartstrings of my youth, but I think anyone who appreciates some good old gangsta angst will love this album. I’m not gonna even bother with a sample… just turn on your radio, it knows what’s up.

August

God Willin & The Creek Don’t Rise Ray LaMontagne & The Pariah Dogs
This isn’t my all time favorite From Ray, but in light of how much I adore his other albums I still say that this deserves to be considered one of the better albums of 2010.
Repo Man

September

Flamingo – Brandon Flowers
The Killers frontman Brandon Flowers delivers a supurb album on his own. Of course it carries a lot of the same vibes that The Killers are known for but what’s a rock star to do? He is who he is and he plays what he plays. Good stuff. Read Review Here.
Only The Young

October

Bad Books – Bad Books
This little get together is composed of indie artist Kevin Devine and members of Manchester Orchestra. Sound good? Well it is.
I Begged You Everything

The Age of Adz – Sufjan Stevens
I think I enjoyed the All Delighted People EP a little more but as far as “albums” go this one is a masterpiece! Some say he’s an acquired taste and I agree… all you have to do is acquire taste and you’ll love him. I really wanted to upload “Impossible Soul” but I think that’s a 25 minute musical exploration that you should only take on after listening to the rest of the album.
Vesuvius

November

My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy – Kanye West
So beautiful. So dark. So twisted. So fantastic. Read Audrey’s Review here.
Blame Game (ft. Bon Iver)

I know there will be albums that I’ve forgotten so this is my appology in advance. But I have to end this somewhere! I hope you enjoyed!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

5 Comments on “Best Albums Of 2k10”

  1. December 30, 2010 at 6:40 am #

    1) personally I’d include “Brothers” by The black keys
    2) I LOVE the title track on ray’s album
    3) you like “all the delighted people” more more that “age of adz”?? Hm, didn’t know that. Interesting.
    4) how are there bands on here I havent heard of?
    5) they’re working on BlakRoc 2. $^%@#=!?#??$&!??!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cadillac Sky – Letters In The Deep « Predictably Me - January 21, 2011

    […] My favorite tracks are Hypocrite and Hangman, as well as the Lee Of The Stone instrumental tracks. I would say this is a good one for lovers of Whiskeytown, Mumford & Sons, Horse Feathers, and Laura Viers. […]

  2. Mumford & Sons, Laura Marling & Dharohar Project – EP « Predictably Me - February 11, 2011

    […] suggest checking out her “I Speak Because I Can” album. She actually made it onto my Best Albums of 2K10… I’m tellin’ ya, it’s positively […]

  3. Young The Giant – Self Titled « Predictably Me - March 18, 2011

    […] debut album that was released in October of last year. And I consider it good enough to amend my Best Of 2k10 list or possibly give it an honorary spot on my yet to be created “We Went To Eleven” […]

  4. Fox & The Bird – Floating Feather « Predictably Me - July 14, 2011

    […] reviews of other byproducts of the community of musicians known as The Dallas Family Band such as The Beaten Sea and LaLaGray… and if you liked those two then this will be right up your […]

Thoughts?

