Fistful of Mercy – As I Call You Down


A couple of weeks ago I was excited to mark Fistful Of Mercy’s debut album off of my wishlist for only $1.99 and I’ve been trying to decide what I think about it ever since. To be perfectly honest, I keep going back and forth with my feelings about it, hence me taking weeks to actually get around to writing about it.

Most of the album seems more like a jam session than a collection of thought out and structured songs. I don’t know what your preference is but this just might be yours. You’ll find it has a bit of a Ryan Adams vibe (which I consider to be quite a compliment)

The Facts: This is the 9 track debut album released October of last year. Comprised of Dhani Harrison (son of George, who is possibly my favorite Beatle), Ben Harper, and Joseph Arthur.

My Thoughts: I’ll give a track by track synopsis since I haven’t done that in a while.

Vain or True – lovely vocals and one of the stronger songs as far as lyrical content goes.

As I Call You Down – Title track. It has a nice groove but it doesn’t really do it for me.

Father’s Son – deep southern vibes and much faster pace than the others on the album. Along with Fist Full Of Mercy it’s one of my favorites from the album.

I Don’t Want To Waste Your Time – Nice instrumentation, a bit repetitive in the lyrics department. I can appreciate it but it doesn’t really grab me.

Fistful Of Mercy – Possibly my favorite (also the single).  It’s both odd and confusing for them to have not only a title track but a track sharing the band’s name…

30 Bones – Beautiful instrumental intro with guitars, violin and the occasional accent on the piano. This one really shows the talent of the trio and I love it, but if instrumental isn’t your thing then it maybe shouldn’t go on your “pros for buying this album” list.

Restore Me – once again, the harmonies have me floored on this one… I’ve always said that there’s nothing quite like a man who can sing harmony. This song makes my point.

Things Go ‘Round – I hate this one. Ok that’s a little dramatic… but I really don’t care for it. I don’t like the lyrics, I feel like they crapped out on it musically, and they all seemed to be doing their own thing vocally. Take my advice and skip this one after 30 seconds.

With Whom You Belong – I wonder if they had to dig up the ever confusing “who or whom” rule from the memory graveyard of “things I learned grade school”? But it’s an ok song I suppose. No love, no hate sort of thing I suppose.

I can’t say that I’m 100% in love with this album. It’s sort of like a shooting star… it’s more fun to talk about and but is a bit of a let down when you actually see one, make a wish though and maybe you’ll find something more than I did. Over all it’s a decent album but if it’s currently on your wishlist I’d suggest holding off until you can get a deal on it. A little sad but that’s my honest opinion… here’s a little taste:

Fistful Of Mercy

Restore Me

P.S. Dhani Harison, I love you… keep making music.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

One Comment on “Fistful of Mercy – As I Call You Down”

  1. January 5, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    I totally agree! I always want to love Ben Harper (this is only partially influenced by the fact that he’s a sexy hunk-o-man), and there are a few songs of his that are AWESOME. But the rest never do it for me. I kinda felt the same about this album. So close to being really awesome….but not.

Thoughts?

