Horse Feathers – Thistled Spring


This is another album that I’ve been meaning to post about for a while but just haven’t gotten around to it. But now that I’m done being a forgetful bum you get to hear allllll about it.

My friend Ryan introduced me to the now Portland resident Justin Ringle who goes by the moniker ‘Horse Feathers’ a while back when he showed me their debut album “House With No Home” (which is fantabulous by the way). However, their sophomore album “Thistled Spring” nearly made my best albums of 2010, and I still wonder if I committed a musical felony by leaving it out.

As I said Horse Feathers was originally just Ringle being the star of the show (I guess you could call him Ringle Star… ok cheesy I know, I just had to do it) but in the last few years he has been playing a bit of a switch ‘n’ swap game with other members…  they seem to have finally settled down with all that nonsense though.

I’d almost put it in the category of Sun Kil Moon but not so crazy chill and with some banjo added in. So somewhere between Iron & Wine and Sun Kil Moon… yes, i’m happy with that description. So there you have it, Sam Beam and Mark Kozelek had a baby and named him Justin Ringle.

My favorite tracks are Cascades, Heaven’s No Place and the title track but not by much since I’d consider the entire album to be extremely solid from beginning to end. And it’s not often that I can say that about an album.

Cascades

Thistled Spring

So there you have it… I’ve done all I can do here, the rest is up to you.

“The broke can still break, oh, what time can take, somewhere in the rules lies the stakes.”

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

No comments yet.

Thoughts?

