The Decemberists – The King Is Dead


Country twang? I’m not sure how I feel about this Mr. Meloy… i’m not at all sure. Not that I’m not a friend of the twang, in fact I often love a good bluegrass jam as well as many other forms of music related to miscolored shrubbery. All that aside, it’s not quite what I was expecting. But it’s by no means bad.

Try and understand that this entire review comes from my inner adolescent Decemberists fan girl… the same 15 year old who spent hours laying on her bed listening to Her Majesty, The Decemberists on repeat. In light of that I’m both a harsh critic and an old lady set in her musical ways when it comes to certain artists.

Rumor has it (aka wikipedia) that the album was recorded in a barn outside of Portland Organ over a six week period last spring. I guess if you record on a farm you’re bound to soak up a little indie twang while your there.

The first time through I was disappointed, I wanted him to sing about bombazine dolls and pantaloons. The second time through it started growing on me, there’s quite a bit of content in his lyrics even though it’s not as strange as some of Meloy’s previous work. Third time through I changed all the across the board 3 star track ratings in my itunes to 4 and 5 stars. I guess this granny has had her mind changed… wouldn’t be the first time!

A couple of my favorite tracks are Rox In The Box (pirate vibe anyone?), January Hymn & June Hymn (acoustic, mellow, very pretty), Down By The Water (the most like the classic Decemberists that I was expecting).

Today only you can get this album for 3.99 on AmazonMP3’s and it’s worth every penny… but if you’re going to have to pay full price I would probably only recommend it for the true Decemberists fans.

January Hymn

Down By The Water

“This is why, This is why we fight, Why we lie awake. When we die we will die with our arms unbound. This is why we fight.”

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. World Spinner - January 19, 2011

    The Decemberists – The King Is Dead « Predictably Me…

    Here at World Spinner we are debating the same thing……

Thoughts?

