Cadillac Sky – Letters In The Deep


It truely makes my heart happy that the banjo is becoming a more prominent instrument in up and coming music these days. Blame it on my southern breeding if you like but if you’re being honest you have to admit that folk music comes from pretty much everywhere.

Cadillac Sky is a group of five guys from Fort Worth Texas who were ‘discovered’ by Dan Auerbach of the Black Keys and who recorded their first album in his own studio back in 2007. They also recently toured with Mumford & Sons. I’m still mourning the fact that I didn’t get to go to that show but I suppose I’ll live… at least that’s what everyone tells me.

You may have seen the video I posted of them a few months ago under the “videos” tab (yes, clever name I know) and maybe you were impressed and already rushed out and got this album. Maybe so, maybe no… but either way I wanted to let anyone who’s on the market for some new music that they should check these guys out.

My favorite tracks are Hypocrite and Hangman, as well as the Lee Of The Stone instrumental tracks. I would say this is a good one for lovers of Whiskeytown, Mumford & Sons, Horse Feathers, and Laura Viers.

Hypocrite

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

No comments yet.

Thoughts?

