Wye Oak – The Knot


If music be the food of love, play on...” -Shakespeare (Twelfth Night)

Wye Oak is comprised of the multi-instrumentalist duo Andy Stack and Jenn Wasner. Jenn plays the guitar/vocals and Andy plays the drums and keys simultaneously while providing backing vocals. I’ve seen some of their live video’s and they actually pull it off, a special “bravo” to Andy… I don’t know about you but I’d find it a bit hard to do all three.

Their name comes from the famous white oak tree in Maryland which happens to be the largest in the US, and is also the state tree. And as you can probably guess they’re from Maryland.

The Knot is their sophomore album that was released in 2009 but according to the all knowing internets they are planing to have another this year.

A lot of the tracks have sort of a darker Cardigans vibe. And I mean that as a good thing as in The Cardigans Live & Learn side… not the Lovefool side that we all know and detest.

They’re songs have a lot of dynamic and their tones are great. Listening to the album it’s hard for me to believe that they can pull it off live with only two people. But after hunting down some youtube videos my doubts evaporated like kool-aid on a texas sidewalk.

I don’t know that I have any favorite tracks but I think the album is consistently good which is a rare thing to find in a hit singles driven industry.

Keep an eye on these two… I think you’re going to be hearing a lot more from them.

“When we fight it’s in the public eye, so make sure everyone knows you’re the winner.”

Take It In

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

No comments yet.

Thoughts?

