LalaGray – Devil’s Nest


Who calls off a snow day just because there’s no snow?!?! This is Houston, TX we only get “snow days” about once every decade and you can’t just promise one and then renege on it! Oh well, since I wasn’t planning on coming in today I got 99% of my work done yesterday thus I don’t actually have to do anything until about 4:45. So I’ll blog…

I’ve mentioned LalaGray in reference to her vocal work with The Beaten Sea when I blogged about them last year (read here). As of this morning I realized that I completely forgot to blog about her as promised.

Ashley Myrick (aka LalaGray) lives in Dallas and is part of the musical conglomerate known as The Dallas Family Band. The moodier tracks such as Barn Owl and the title track are my favorites but truly the whole album is enjoyable. You can stream or purchase Devil’s Nest here and I would strongly recommend doing so… besides, it’ll totally up your indie cred by knowing about a great artist that can’t be found on itunes or amazon. Win Win Win…

Anyway, I’d say LalaGray’s perfect for you if you like Ingrid Michaelson, Sarah Jaffe, Regina Spektor or talented female musicians in general.

Devil’s Nest

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

3 Comments on “LalaGray – Devil’s Nest”

  1. February 5, 2011 at 2:43 am #

    Crazy Houstonians and snow days! What snow???? Ashley Myrick’s voice is awesome!

    • February 6, 2011 at 12:00 am #

      Haha I know there was no snow but you can’t tell everyone they get a snow day and then change your mind half way through the day!!! Even a northerner like you must acknowledge the sacredness of a snow day! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fox & The Bird – Floating Feather « Predictably Me - July 14, 2011

    […] byproducts of the community of musicians known as The Dallas Family Band such as The Beaten Sea and LaLaGray… and if you liked those two then this will be right up your […]

Thoughts?

