Joel Willoughby – Rain & Pocket Change EP


I’m a little ashamed to admit how I found this guy, but believe it or not I have Hollister to thank for it. Y’know how it is, I have this “friend” that was shopping there etc, etc. Anyway, I heard Hazelnut Moon playing and was instantly hooked. I was surprised that Hollister, of all places, would be playing this light-hearted melodic tune but there it was… gracing my ears and leaving me staring at a wall of denim mini skirts. Luckily, I had the presence of mind to pull out my iphone and Shazam that sucka before the song was over thus leading me to today’s delightful little EP.

Rain & Pocket Change is the third release from singer/song writer Joel Willoughby and to be honest I don’t care much for he previous stuff. After hearing Hazelnut Moon I foolishly purchased his album Do You Have Something To Say? on itunes but was massivly disapointed. The song structures were simple and the lyrics predictable. It wasn’t terrible… but the album was like the less attractive younger brother to Howie Day‘s album Collide. I hate to say it but it was.

However, with this new EP (that actually has Hazelnut Moon on it) shows more musical, melodic, and lyrical maturity. It may not be ground breaking or mind blowing but it’s certainly worth checking out. I have a feeling that we’ll be hearing a lot more from Mr. Willoughby in the future.

He has a song for free HERE and you can buy the EP on Amazon or Itunes.

Hazelnut Moon

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

No comments yet.

Thoughts?

