Stornoway – Beachcomber’s Windowsill


This album was recommended to me by a reader earlier this month and I may never forgive myself for waiting nearly two weeks to check it out. It’s two weeks of wonderful I will never be able to get back. But there have been so many great albums out lately (Cold War Kids, Lykki Li, Eisley, Wye Oak, etc.) that figuring out what to listen to feels a lot like picking a favorite child and I’m afraid Stornoway got lost somewhere in the over cluttered back of my mind.

They come from Oxford, England where they formed in 2006. For a few years they wrote, played various shows, and gained local popularity and in December of 2009 they signed to a small british indie label. This album, Beachcomber’s Windowsill, was released in May of 2010. Of course it’s hard to be recognized when you, as a band, are trying to make it in the shadow of Mumford & Sons, but I expect to hear much more from them in the future.

The alum art certainly isn’t overdone and has an eerie Alfred Hitchcock feel. I know it’s not usually a good idea to judge an album by it’s sleeve but I have to admit… if albums were people, I’d be racist.

Anyway, check it out! I promise you wont regret it. Suggested if you like Vampire Weekend, Two Door Cinema Club, Fionn Regan, Fleetfoxes, Local Natives or great indie brit pop in general. You psyched about it yet? You should be. It’s fairly light hearted album with great harmonies, melodies, and accented with the occasional organ tone or harp.

Zorbing

The Coldharbour Road

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

No comments yet.

Thoughts?

