Young The Giant – Self Titled


I really should just quit making best of lists for each year. As if it’s not hard enough to choose just a few albums to list out of the tons that I feel are mention worthy I always seem to be amending my list for months upon months and well into the next year. Today is just such an occasion.

Young The Giant (formerly known by the far less interesting name The Jakes) is a five member band from Southern California. I’ve just recently purchased their self titled debut album that was released in October of last year. And I consider it good enough to amend my Best Of 2k10 list or possibly give it an honorary spot on my yet to be created “We Went To Eleven” best of list. Either way, this album is worth being on one of my lists, I could really care less which one.

Every album has a season and this one is certainly a California Summer album, not to be confused with the Beach Boys Do-whop sorta California Summer. Some of my favorite tracks are God Made Man, Apartment, Cough Syrup, and St. Walker, but truely the entire album is a well done cohesive project worth your time, money, ears. Well, I suppose I mean your time, money, and ear time… I don’t want any of you going out and trading your ears for the album. Don’t get me wrong, I’d still love all of you in your likeness to Van Gogh but let’s not crazy.

Suggested if you like Vampire Weekend, Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin, or finding buried treasure.

Apartment

God Made Man

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

No comments yet.

Thoughts?

