Give The Moment A Song


If you’ve ever considered suggesting I listen to an album, there will never be a better time. My friends know me very well and I now find myself in post-birthday bliss more than adequately stocked on itunes gift cards, amazon credits, and cigars… now all I need is to figure out what to buy! So suggest away!

Anyway, there will be no review today, mostly because per my usual yearly musical nostalgia I’ve been listening to all the greats of my youth. Hanson, Greenday, No Doubt, Third Eye Blind, Goo Goo Dolls, Radiohead, Smashmouth… you get the point. The old gang has been keeping me company for days. Don’t worry I’m going to spare you the Hanson lecture,  but all of it did me thinking about something. I don’t know if anyone else does this but I’m pretty sure I can’t be the only one. When things are tough, amazing, terrible, or changing and I don’t know quite how to process it, I find that I often assign a song in my mind to that even and/or moment. So I thought I’d share a few of mine.

Trapeze Swinger – Iron & Wine

Surfer Girl – The Beach Boys

Forever & For Always – Shania Twain

Penny & Me – Hanson

Jackson – Johnny Cash & June Carter

Good Riddance – Green Day

Have A Nice Day – Stereophonics

Yellow – Coldplay

Sunday, Bloody Sunday – U2

If You Were Wondering – Eisley

My Sundown – Jimmy Eat World

That Kinda Girl – DC Talk

Across The Universe – The Beatles

Long Ride Home – Patty Griffin

So there you have it… my own personal therapy process. Each one of these is attached to a specific memory or moment in my life, some happy and some sad. I’m not gonna tell you why though… that’s personal. 🙂

Have a good day and don’t forget to tell me what to buyyyyy with my loads of gift cards!!!!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

One Comment on “Give The Moment A Song”

  1. Jonas
    April 12, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    It is very hard for me to resist an opportunity to recommend Pearl Jam, so take this with a grain of salt, but they are re-releasing vs. and Vitalogy, their 2nd and 3rd albums, respectively. After 20 (!) years and 9 albums, vs. is still my very favorite one, and while I could write something like a 5 page essay on how I like the album’s arrangement, I’ll just say, simply, it rocks. These will be available in vinyl and even in super-deluxe versions that run like $160…but I wouldn’t advise plunking down that much cash or gift card value for an album you don’t know yet. There’s also Live on Two Legs, which is a compilation live album, but some great live versions of their greats, plus there’s a ****load of live albums released from later tours. Also, if you have bday money that’s not tied to certain stores, this Saturday is Record Store days, and independent record stores will have special releases from all sorts of bands.

    And, just to respond to your songs for moods bit, Pearl Jam is my band for improving my mood. Like, I love Radiohead, but if I’m depressed and I listen to Radiohead, I’ll probably just stay depressed. Pearl Jam, while their songs are often about downers like homelessness and unemployment, will always pick me up.

Thoughts?

