TheNewNo2 – You Are Here


Hello to one! Hello to All! But after my week long posting absence the former is probably more fitting. Y’all still there? Oh ok cool, good to see y’all again! Anyway,  I decided to have a post birthday get away weekend. Took a few days off work, got outta town, got to hang with some friends & family, traveled around and hit up a few shows with Eisley, ate some D-lish food… pretty much all that is good in life. But that’s enough about me. Let’s talk about music

Today I have a dream come true for you. Of course that’s mostly a figure of speech, but if you’ve ever dreamed that there were an album that combined the vibes of both George Harrison and Radiohead then you can take me quite literally.

TheNewNo2’s are a six piece British alt-rock band fronted by Dhani Harrison (son of George). You may already be familiar with the album since it did come out in 2008 but I’m surprised by how many people I talk to that haven’t heard of it. And that my friends, simply will not do. Dhani’s voice and vocal inflections are very much like his fathers (George being my favorite Beatle, I consider this a pretty weighty complement). However, the over all vibe is much more akin to Radiohead than any of The Beatles’s albums or George’s solo work.

It’s extremely refreshing to see the offspring of a famous musician who is actually making music for himself instead of trying to recreate a sound that his father was known for just because that’s what a lot of people expect. No offense to Sean Lennon, A.J. Croce, or Jakob Dylan‘s solo work but I don’t really care to hear another musician trying to fit the mold of his/her parent. And I do realize that just saying “no offense” before an offensive statement doesn’t make it unoffensive, but I’ve yet to find a foolproof way to be both honest and polite. Just know that I’m not trying to be a troll here… just my honest opinion.

Overall, the album has a lot of dynamics and instrumentation but a few of the songs individually seem to get stuck in a groove-rut and if you have a narrow musical attention span you may find yourself wanting to skip some. Still I encourage you to give it a listen if you haven’t done so already because you’re bound to find something you like.

Suggested for those who dislike,  A.J. Croce, Miley Cyrus, and the spawn of musicians who shouldn’t be musicians.

Crazy Tuesday

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

One Comment on “TheNewNo2 – You Are Here”

  1. Sophie Perrault
    April 20, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    Whoa! I forgot about this band and album completely. I was pretty into them my senior year of high school. Time to re-download!

Thoughts?

