Good Friday vs. Great Friday


It’s Good Friday everyone! And the only thing that would help turn this Good Friday into a Great Friday would be not having to work… but alas I find myself here slaving away on this beautiful day of remembrance.

I don’t have an album review for you today… but I assure you they are in the mental making. Besides, I need to get my game face on and start spending all of my birthday itunes/amazon gift cards!

But since it happens to be Good Friday I wanted to list a few songs that “get me every time”. I’m a christian, but I don’t listen to christian radio. I love worshiping through music, but I don’t listen to much “worship music”. However, there are some songs that might as well be worship songs for all I’m concerned. No matter if the song writer claims to be Christian, Atheist, or Agnostic… some songs just seem to ring true. And these are a few that I particularly love! (Warning: There will be a lot of Coldplay on here)

Swallowed In The Sea – Coldplay (lyrics here)
“Oh what good is it to live, with nothing left to give? To forget but not forgive, not loving all you see?”

With Or Without You – U2 (Lyrics Here)
“Through the storm we’ll reach the shore. You gave it all but I want more. And I’m waiting for you.

Stolen – Dashboard Confessional (Lyrics Here)
You have stolen my heart…”

In My Life – The Beatles (Lyrics Here)
“But of all these friends and lovers, there is no one who compares to you. And these memories loose their meaning, when I think of love as something new.

Hardest Part – Coldplay (Lyrics Here)
The hardest part was letting go, not taking part… I could feel it go down, you left the sweetest taste in my mouth. You’re silver lining the clouds. Oh and I, I wonder what it’s all about.

Whirring – The Joy Formidable (Lyrics Here)
This much delight, fills columns to new heights. All these things about me you never can tell.

Wait For Me – Anais Mitchell (Feat. Justin Vernon) (Lyrics Here)
No lyrics will do this justice… just listen to it NOW.

Beautiful Day – U2 (lyrics here)
“Touch me, Take me to that other place. Teach me, I know I’m not a hopeless case.”

Yellow – Coldplay (Lyrics Here)
I wrote a song, I wrote a song for you, and all the things you do. It was called yellow.

Sigh No More – Mumford & Sons (Lyrics Here)
Love, It will not betray you, dismay or enslave you. It will set you free.

Lions Mane – Iron & Wine (Lyrics Here)
“Love is a tired symphony you hum when you’re awake.”

Come Back When You Can – Barcelona (Lyrics Here)
“Let go, and you’ll understand, That you’ve done nothing at all, to make me love you less… If all you want is me, then I’ll give you nothing less.”

Heart Of Life – John Mayer (Lyrics Here)
No, it wont all go the way they should, but i know the heart of life is good.

Green Eyes – Coldplay (Lyrics Here)
“I came here with a load, and it feels so much lighter now that I’ve met you. And Honey you should know, I could never go on without you.

Do You Realize – The Flaming Lips (Lyrics here)
Instead of saying all of your goodbye’s, let them know you realize that time goes fast, it’s hard to make the good things last. Realize the sun doesn’t go down, it’s only an illusion caused by the world spinning ’round.

Ok ok… I’ll stop. I’m sure there are more but this will just have to do!

P.S. Please share some of your favorite “truth songs”!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

No comments yet.

Thoughts?

