Fleet Foxes – Helplessness Blues


I’m not gonna lie you guys, I’m feeling a little guilty about some of the harsh words I used in my last post regarding Augustana’s album. Unfortunately I was coming off as inconsistent in my review but I suppose that’s because my feelings about it were a bit mixed. I’d just like to say that I think it’s a great album… pay no mind to all the other stuff I said, it may be true but I don’t think it was really worth mentioning.

So I promise to be nice today which is why I decided to review Fleet Foxes brand spankin’ new album Helplessness Blues. I’m convinced that the even most critical critic in the critic-verse would be hard pressed to find something to criticize with this one… because IT. IS. FANTASTIC.

I loved their last album that was released in 2008… I remember squealing like a kid on Christmas the first time I saw that Starbucks was selling their golden tunes. So needless to say I’ve been anticipating this one.

If you’re already as much of a fan as I am you may have already scored yourself the leaked tracks… but of course you realize that this great band deserves your financial support and I’m sure you’ve already legally purchased it… *glares pointedly*

These Seattle dwelling boys have such a mellow (yet not boring) sound with incredible harmonies, and ancient imagery. Over time they have become a six member band fronted by the bearded wonder Robin Pecknold. The title track reminds me of the sort of semi-secular hymn the Johnny Cash would write (not that Robin’s voice sounds anything like Johnny Cash). The category of folk doesn’t seem quite adequate in describing their sound but it’s probably the best I’m going to be able to do. They themselves have often refered to their sound as “baroque harmonic pop jams”… not that the general public has any idea what that means. I would say that they sound a LOT like Midlake (if you don’t know who that is then I highly recommend you checking out their The Trials Of Van Occupanther album).

As much as I loved the last album I believe I may love this one more… they seem to have developed their personal sound a little more and overall I think there is more emotion within these songs. And after all, what is music without emotion?

For lovers of Midlake, Bon Iver, Sun Kil Moon, and poetry.

Battery Kinzie

The Shrine/An Arguement

(Hint: AmazonMp3 has it for 3.99 today only!)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

2 Comments on “Fleet Foxes – Helplessness Blues”

  1. May 3, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    i am sooooo excited for this album!!! i can’t wait to go buy it later today. AND i just got my ticket to see them at the palladium yesterday! are you going to be able to see them this tour? i figure it might be the only time i get too. oh and great review! 😀

    • May 3, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

      Thanks! And unfortunately they are not coming to Houston… :/ They are only going to Dallas and it’s a crazy time of year for me so I doubt I’ll be able to make the trip. But you’ll have to let me know how the show is!

Thoughts?

