Bon Iver – Bon Iver, Bon Iver


Intro: For those of you who don’t already know of (and subsequently ADORE) Bon Iver‘s debut album “For Emma, Forever Ago” that was released back in 2008 please go do so now. You should buy the whole album but if you don’t want to take my word for it go stream Blindsided and Skinny Love… then send up a prayer to Saint Sam Beam (the patron saint of indie folk singer/songwriters) apologizing for doubting my judgment and THEN go buy the album. Got that? Ok, let’s move on…

Disclaimer: Now I know, I know… it’s a little tacky to review a leak. And something doesn’t sit quite right with me about it… but it’s not the fact that I have the album earlier than the label intended me to, because I honestly makes me feel like a real bad ass. No, my issue is mostly with the negative impact of the album’s first week purchases (and over all sales/stats). So if you want to track it down yourself there is nothing I can do to stop you… and if you email me asking for it I may oblige you, but only if you can convince me that you have something that I want (i.e. albums, EP’s, Remixes, Sufjan‘s phone #, etc.) AND that you promise me with the CONVICTION OF A BLOOD OATH that you will buy it when it comes out. In that case I’d think about it.

Only Part Of This Post Really Worth Reading: My absolute favorite song thus far (AKA out of the 5 straight through listens I’ve given it in the last few hours) is Michicant followed closely by Holocene. Hinnom, TX is fantastic as well and has the added bonus of being associated with Texas, although I have some serious doubts that Hinnom, TX actually exists. Over all it’s a completely fantastic album and I’m confident that you will not be disapointed with it in the least whether or not you decide to get it now or when the album finally drops.

So remember kids… June 20th is the day where you will go and financially support this amazing musician, because the album is worth every penny (plus some) that you’ll be spending on it.

Recommended if you appreciate art, nature, and honest emotion.

Inspirational tidbits that you could easily do without:
“fall and autumn ended
it was over, but it’ll all be back

and the frost took up the eyes”

Or possibly

“Before our thoughts were bended,
it was clover, and we all be black
then the lost took to the sky.

That’s the same line… not sure what it says exactly but I think at least ONE of those has to be correct. I wonder which one is right…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

4 Comments on “Bon Iver – Bon Iver, Bon Iver”

  1. May 18, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    i cannot wait for this album! i’m gonna go check my usual site for leaked stuff to see if its there tonite. if not, i might have to beg you for it. but don’t worry, i plan on buying the vinyl.

    • May 18, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

      I’ll email you the link to my mediafire upload of it 🙂 Since it’s you I don’t mind… but mostly because I like to pretend you’re related to David Bazan.

      • May 19, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

        ha!!!! i get asked all the time if we are. from now on i’m telling everyone we’re cousins. and thanks! can’t wait to listen. 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bon Iver – Calgary Official Music Video « Predictably Me - June 21, 2011

    […] If you want to read my review of the album you can do so with a very simple click right HERE. […]

Thoughts?

