The National – Exile Vilify (Single)



I don’t know how I missed this… it’s a single that The National wrote for the video game Portal 2. I was unaware that video games hired bands to make soundtracks for them, I suppose I’ve been living in a cave. I don’t know the first thing about video games but I know a good song when I hear it!

This is why I keep music loving friends around, otherwise I may have missed this one altogether. There is no announcement that I can find but part of me hopes that this is a sign of future material from my favorite Cincinnati boys.

Available on itunes.

You’re thinking too fast, you’re like marbles on glass.”

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

5 Comments on “The National – Exile Vilify (Single)”

  1. June 8, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    “I don’t know how I missed this…”
    “I don’t know the first thing about video games”

    I reckon you need to start playing more videogames… seriously though it’s a pretty amazing inclusion in a really great game. Worth digging around youtube for some footage of the game with the song playing.

    • June 8, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

      Some of my brother’s are pretty int xbox games etc but I’m always too busy to pay much attention to it. I think the last game I really was into was Donkey Kong 😛

      But seeing as how you seem to be far more up to date on this stuff feel free to let me know if any amazing bands release songs that a non-gamer like me would want to know about.

      • June 8, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

        “amazing bands release songs that a non-gamer would want to know about”

        There’s a blog idea in there somewhere!

        I think The National song is a pretty special case, but hopefully it’ll encourage other artists to take game soundtracks more seriously.

  2. June 9, 2011 at 8:20 am #

    “This is why I keep music loving friends around, otherwise I may have missed this one altogether.”

    Music AND video game loving friends at that, haha. I glad to be of service though.

    Anyway, I’m trying to think of other examples of bands writing music for video games, because I know there has to be more than this, but I’m drawing blanks at the moment. The only other band I can think of is Anamanaguchi, who composed the soundtrack for the Scott Pilgrim vs. The World game. It is a fantastic composition that fit perfectly with the old school style of the game, though I don’t know how into chiptune “bleeps and bloops” you’d be, even if it is all pretty amazing.

    • June 9, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

      haha well I’m willing to listen to anything you send my way… but i make no guarantees that I’ll like it! Thanks again for letting me know about this Alexx!

Thoughts?

