Rave On Buddy Holly – Trubute album

Whether or not you know every song of Buddy Holly’s tragically short career or you only know every word of Weezer’s hit song referencing this musical legend, this is a cover album you should be excited about…

First of all I want to thank my friend Ryan Hargrave for the heads up about this one! I’m absolutely thrilled about it! You can read Ryan’s far superior post HERE but I wanted to make sure all my fellow music lovers are aware and anticipating it’s release on June 28th. Take a gander at the track listing and join me in my school girl giddiness!

1. Dearest – The Black Keys
2. Every Day – Fiona Apple & Jon Brion
3. It’s So Easy – Paul McCartney
4. Not Fade Away – Florence + The Machine
5. (You’re So Square) Baby, I Don’t Care – Cee Lo Green
6. Crying, Waiting, Hoping – Karen Elson
7. Rave On – Julian Casablancas
8. I’m Gonna Love You Too – Jenny O.
9. Maybe Baby – Justin Townes Earle
10. Oh Boy – She & Him
11. Changing All Those Changes – Nick Lowe
12. Words Of Love – Patti Smith
13. True Love Ways – My Morning Jacket
14. That’ll Be The Day – Modest Mouse
15. Well…All Right – Kid Rock
16. Heartbeat -The Detroit Cobras
17. Peggy Sue – Lou Reed
18. Peggy Sue Got Married – John Doe
19. Raining In My Heart – Graham Nash

Yeah that’s right…this is going to be off the proverbial chain.

Paste magazine has Dearest by The Black Keys up for streaming HERE.

And here is a video of Florence + The Machine’s cover of Not Fade Away

P.S. If you are only familiar with “Buddy Holly” by Weezer please take a break from the catchy “oh-we-oh’s” and immerse yourself in the original Buddy Holly versions of the tracks listed above BEFORE you hear these cover versions. If there’s one thing I’ve learned in life it’s “Don’t watch the movie first if you plan on reading the book.” and “Don’t listen to the cover if you ever want to appreciate the original song.”

You can also listen to/download She & Him’s version of “Oh Boy” HERE. Thanks to  Adam S. for sending me this link!


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

One Comment on “Rave On Buddy Holly – Trubute album”

  1. June 10, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    I think you 1 ‘d me. Great post! So excited!!!


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: