Disney


Ok you guys… here’s the deal. I’m flying out to California tomorrow with my family for a trip to Disney Land. This will not only be my first time on the west coast *insert singing of West Coast by Coconut Records here* it will be my first time in all my 23 years to visit any of the Disney parks. My excitement is officially reaching un-human levels.

So guess what I’m listening to today??? Yup, you guessed it! I’ve been shuffling through the 150 Disney songs on my ipod… and the only thing I regret is not being able to sing along with every song on account of the fact that I’m now a working professional and singing “Bare Necessities” in the work place might come off a little strange. And if you try to tell me that there isn’t a single Disney song living in your heart of hearts then you have my condolences, because you clearly never had a childhood and are, to this day, living a half life.

So here we go, some of my favorites:

Kiss The Girl – The Little Mermaid
Ok, I’ll admit it… I’ve never actually seen The Little Mermaid. But when I was little 90% of what I’d watch was Disney sing-a-longs so I’m well versed in my Disney tunes even if I’m lacking in my knowledge of the traditional Disney princesses. And c’mon… sing-a-longs are legit… they’re like the Diseny version of Captain Crunch’s “Oops All Berries”. Pure goodness.

Why Should I Worry? – Oliver & Company
Even though it may be a slightly less common, one personal favorite soundrack of mine is Oliver & Co. Can y’all guess why??? That’s right! You got it again! Man, you guys are good at this… of course I would love it because it’s done by Billy Joel!

Lion King & Road To Eldorado
Both soundtracks were done by Elton John… which explains why they’re both AMAZING. Particularly Can You Feel The Love Tonight and The Trail We Blaze.

I Wanna Be Like You – Jungle Book
One fact: Louis Prima. What’s not to love? I used to dance around to this one… apparently even the 3 year old me knew dance party material when I heard it.

Prince Ali – Aladdin
Robin Williams as the Genie is one of my favorite Disney voices EVER. I actually have a video of my brother Drayton singing this word for word (and very theatrically I might add) on a family+friends vacation that happened to have a “Let’s hang out and sing disney songs night”. What? Y’all don’t have those?

I’ll Make A Man Out Of You – Mulan
(Be a man) We must be swift as the coursing river
(Be a man) With all the force of a great typhoon
(Be a man) With all the strength of a raging fire
Mysterious as the dark side of the moon.
‘nough said.

Belle – Beauty & The Beast
I know this isn’t the song most young impressionable girls gravitate towards but Belle and I are homegirls at heart. People always saying we read too much, good relationship with dad, and the tendency to day dream… I imagine when we meet this weekend Belle will say, “Haterz’ll always hate, so you just do you… got’chu girl.” Or something like that. I’d also like to add that Beauty & The Beast is a far more emotionally healthy portrayal of love… none of this unrealistic “I have to have my hansom prince on a white horse” thing.

He’s A Tramp – Lady & The Tramp
No one on earth but Peggy Lee could have sang this song… it was made for her.

I’ll end there, because I litterally could go on all day. But as a final note I want to also mention the great Disney score writer Alan Menken ! Check out these scores:
The Ends Of The Earth – Aladdin
Transformation – Beauty & The Beast
Listen To Your Heart Pt. 2 – Pocahontas (never cared for the movie, love the music though)

I know there’s so many more… What’s your favorite?!?!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

2 Comments on “Disney”

  1. Audrey
    June 15, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    Faves:
    A Whole New World – Aladdin (basically every song in the movie)
    Kiss the Girl – The Little Mermaid
    Gaston – Beauty and the Beast
    And basically all of The Lion King

Thoughts?

