The Anthemeers – EP


After hearing about 30 seconds of this EP playing in the background at a friends house my brain’s happy place lit up and said, “I don’t know this band… I MUST know this band.” A few urgent inquiries ranging from, “Wow I love this song, what is it?” to “OH MY GOD GIVE ME THIS ALBUM NOWWWW!” quickly revealed that the magic that was tickling my ears was none other than the recent EP from the six member Huntsville based band called The Anthemeers.

The discovery that the EP was on iTunes saved me the trouble of trying to figure out a way to smuggle the CD from my friend’s place without her noticing… which was really quite convenient. Needless to say I downloaded it and I’ve pretty much been listening to it ever since.

Each of the six songs are worthy of being put on repeat but a few that stick out to me are Peace and Phaedrus. (Note: the first 30 seconds of Peace eerily resembles the beginning of Brand New’s Millstone) They’re a hard lot to describe, not because they’re so absolutely different from anything else out there, but because they incorporate so many different sounds into their music. You could say they’re like Modest Mouse if Isaac Brock was cloned twice to form a three part wall of male vocals. And if you’re a fan of Cold War Kids I’d suggest you give them a try.

Word on the street (aka their facebook page) is that they’ll be playing at Bohemeo’s and Notsuoh next month… if you live in Houston I expect you to be there hanging out with me.

So go buy their EP, ‘Like’ their Facebook page, and show them a little bit o’ love.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

3 Comments on “The Anthemeers – EP”

  1. Melissa
    July 14, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    This is my soundtrack at work today! Absolutely Amazing.

  2. Tammy
    July 14, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    You did an amazing job describing their sound!

Thoughts?

