Lucy Swann – La Petite Mort


Don’t let the title worry you… even though I do have an affinity for French music, this album is not in the less attractive language of English. Not much time to ramble on and on today but I wanted to take a second to bless you with a little musical sass to get you through the last half of your week.

This album by a sassy little European named Lucy Swann was released last year but is just now making it’s way across the pond… and I am in love with it. The Little Death (the English translation of the title track) is enough for me to declare Lucy Swann as the official Norwegian Beyonce (Sorry @AudreyO). I’m not even joking about that. But with this debut album miss Swann obviously intended to display the versatility of her voice because other tracks such as For Heaven’s Sake and Undercover sound like something I’d expect from Laura Veirs or Imogen Heap.

Suggested for those with enough sense to appreciate strong female vocalists like Lissie, Imogen Heap, Laura Veirs and Beyonce.

Bon écouter!

The Little Death

Lucy Swann – Fashionably Late from Jørgen Klüver on Vimeo.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

4 Comments on “Lucy Swann – La Petite Mort”

  1. Audrey
    July 27, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    Legit! I’m ok being #2 on the Norwegian Beyonce list if she’s #1.

  2. Audrey
    July 27, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    Also, where can I get a gold blazer like the tree-face bros in this video?

  3. July 27, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    The only reason I’m worried about the title is that “la petite mort” is a French euphemism for an orgasm. Hahah, seriously. It’s true.

    I’ll check it out, though.

    • July 27, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

      Ha yeah I have heard that… I didn’t want to google that here at work though in order to find out. It’s a great album though. Let me know what you think!

Thoughts?

