Azure Ray – Self Titled


Sometimes you’re just a little down and you don’t know why. I believe a suitable word is “melancholy”… not too much of anything really, but enough to note it. That’s me today.

This dreamy duo is made up of Maria Taylor and Orenda Fink. They’re still a band but many of you may know some of Maria’s solo work as well. This is their first album that was released in 2001 but I think it’s one of their best. My favorites on the album that also happen to be some of my all time favorite go-to’s for my melancholy moods are Sleep, Safe And Sound, Rise, and Displaced.

This album is so simple, so slow, and so soothing. So if you find yourself needing an album that wont judge you for being a little down this one will always be there for you. It’s a rainy day album with a subtly sunny outlook… the harmonies aren’t bad either.

Don’t worry about me though… I’ll chase this album with Stornoway and then some Sufjan and eventually end up happy as a lark jamming some Billy Joel (personally, I’ve never seen a lark jamming Billy Joel, but I figured it’d be pretty happy).

Rise

“You said you’d take me nowhere,
I said, “That suits me just fine.”

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

No comments yet.

Thoughts?

