He’s My Brother She’s My Sister – EP


How many bands could possibly be categorized as Indie-Southern-Swing-Pop ? Not many I recon… not many at all. And that’s just one of the many reasons this EP has caught my attention.

Tales That I Tell reminds me of something reminiscent of Iron & Wine‘s The Devil Never Sleeps in it’s folksy throwback vibe. How’m I Gonna Get Back Home is possibly my favorite and I’d love to attempt to swing dance to it… I’m thinking it’d be a blast. Lazy Daze and Moonage Daydream both have a Beatles-esque feel and a subtle Rilo Kiley tone permeates the entire EP. The string part on The House That Isn’t Mine lends a perfectly eerie mood to the song. Coattails is the song that my “swing” reference starts to make more sense.

It’s just an EP but it’s enough to put this duo on my “bands to keep an eye on” list (this list is also geekily titled “two eyes as often as I can spare them”)

Suggested for anyone who enjoys Rilo Kiley, She & Him, and The Beatles (aka hopefully everyone who loves good music).

DTLA.tv Presents He’s My Brother She’s My Sister – Tales That I Tell- Live from Phillip Jordan on Vimeo.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

No comments yet.

Thoughts?

