The Envy Corps – It Culls You


I could not be more psyched about this album. Like, for me to be any more excited to have it would be approaching the realm of physical impossibility.

If you’re not familiar with The Envy Corps I would suggest downloading every single one of their albums and EP’s. They’re very Radiohead-esque… which is more than a compliment because I LOVE Radiohead. And yet I can safely say I like this album more than King Of Limbs. I had the good fortune to tag along with Eisley on a tour in 2008 where these guys were the supporting act and I loved watching their show night after night, but this is not a friendship enhanced album for me… it’s straight up good stuff. But like so many bands these days it’s been a while since they’ve released anything due to label issues but I’m glad to see that the man is no longer keeping these boys down. Thank the Lord.

Now if you are familiar with them then let me warn you that most of this album is more electronic or “noisy” than many of their older songs like Rooftop and Keys To Good Living… but you still get a few songs like Everyone’s Trying To Find You and Fools (How I survived You & Even Laughed) towards the end that will placate that same old dreamy vibe. this new material is nearly impossible to not like. And I truly can’t pick any favorites. Just go find the most bad-ass sound system available to you and soak this sh** up.

Great guys, great music and I’m glad to have some new material from them. So make your life better and their lives easier by buying their album. It’s not on iTunes or AmazonMp3 (I know, that’s so indie fresh right?) but you can order the album or download the Mp3’s from their website HERE.

Control+Q

Everyone’s Trying To Find You

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

2 Comments on “The Envy Corps – It Culls You”

  1. September 3, 2011 at 6:26 am #

    Thanks for the reminder this is out! I had almost forgotten about it, but I was pretty excited when I first heard it announced, so I’m glad I didn’t. I’m glad you made that Radiohead comparison too. On Dwell, Luke’s voice occasionally dipped into Yorkeism, but the brief clips I heard in the album trailer made the similarities even stronger. I had even shown the video to a friend of mine who’s unfamiliar with The Envy Corps, and he thought it sounded like a Radiohead album too.

  2. October 13, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    I think it would be impossible not to hear the Radiohead influence. They practically beat you over the head with it. But it’s so, SO beautifully executed. I just heard of these guys yesterday and have been streaming this album non-stop. I believe it fills the hole in my heart that The King of Limbs created.

Thoughts?

