Sara Bareilles – Kaleidoscope Heart


This album has basically been my chippy for the last two weeks… it may be mainstream but I won’t allow you to judge me until you’ve checked out this album.

I know most of you are probably familiar with her 2007 radio hit Love Song… which I personally didn’t care for much. But her most recent album “Kaleidoscope Heart” is an entirely different animal. To be honest I had sort of written her off as just another marginally talented Colbie Caillat that could produce a few cute but unexceptional songs. However, I’m now admitting that I was wrong.

If you’ve ever listened to her Live At The Filmore album (highly recomended) you’re not going to bother debating her talent… there is no denying that this gal isn’t messing around. I would particularly suggest listening to Vegas or her cover of Sittin’ On The Dock Of The Bay. Fan-tas-tic. But as far as this particular album goes I think the first half of the album is the strongest… from the opening title track (that I dare say even Imogen Heap would be proud to claim) to the bouncy melody of Gonna Get Over You to Say You’re Sorry this album had me hooked. I know this is hardly big news from the underground music scene but just the opposite. This is news to the anti-radio music snobs like myself… apparently the the radio big wigs got this one right.

Gonna Get Over You

 

 

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

2 Comments on “Sara Bareilles – Kaleidoscope Heart”

  1. November 8, 2011 at 12:25 am #

    Hello! I know I’m about a month late to comment here, but I just had to get my two cents in! I just started following your blog, and I have to say that I TOO am a big fan of Sara Bareilles. I’ve seen her live once, and she’s on the books again for a December show. Although I WAS hooked from the first time I heard Love Song, I’ve loved everything she’s done thus far. I think she’s an exceptional talent, all across the board. I very rarely get tired of listening. Here’s to finding more awesome music!

    • November 8, 2011 at 7:57 am #

      Thanks for the reply! In so jealous that you’ve seen her live! She’s pretty high on my “artist I need to see” list. 🙂

Thoughts?

