Ben Howard – Every Kingdom


I’m sorry to have been so lax in my blogging lately… work, school, concerts, life, blah blah blah. You get the idea. And I do have to admit that my absence is partially due to audiobooks becoming my work-time distraction of choice lately. But what brings me by the blog today is a young British fellow named Ben Howard and his fantastic debut album Every Kingdom.

The first song that caught my attention via Pandora was The Wolves which has energy, feeling, and some pretty fancy guitar work. But through that song I’ve grown to absolutely love the entire album. I’d compare him to Nick Drake, Fionn Regan, Bon Iver, Devendra Banhart, or maybe a British Iron & Wine. He’s fairly young but extremely talented. It’s becoming a rare thing to find a musician who has both musical and lyrical talent. In my opinion this album is an exceptional find in today’s musical meat market.

“I been worryin’ that my time is a little unclear
I been worryin’ that I’m losing the one’s I hold dear
I been worryin’ that we all live our lives in the confines of fear” -The Fear

The Wolves

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

No comments yet.

Thoughts?

