Musical Advent – Day 2


Future of forestry – Advent Christmas EP

I don’t know how I’ve gone so long without giving this band a proper listen… I’m ashamed to say that I’ve just recently purchased some of their albums *cough*ok I bought all of them*cough*. I have to give props to my pal C.J. who insisted I give them a listen this week… Merci Beaucoup mon ami! Anyway, the album that caught my eye in particular is their 2008 Advent album… pretty traditional in their selection of songs but very untraditionally done. And if I’m going to have five versions of the same song on a playlist I’ve at least got to have some variety in there!

I would say that O Come O Come Emmanuel is a pretty powerful song in general but some versions tend to be a bit on the ominous side for holiday music… not this version, it is perfect. I also love it because these are truly advent songs and not merely holiday cheeriness. I love christmas lights and hot chocolate as much as the next person but it’s nice to refocus on what this season is actually about via music that I can truly appreciate.

O Come, O Come, Emmanuel on Spotify HERE. (Sorry but it’s not letting me upload my file… bleh)

Tags: , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

No comments yet.

Thoughts?

