Good Old War – Come Back As Rain


“It makes me happy on the level of Billy Joel.” Predictably Me: First Impression

“After hearing this album, I’ve officially had my hands surgically altered to never move from ‘two thumbs up’ again.”Predictably Me: Second Impression

“I listed myself as ‘in a relationship with Come Back As Rain’ on Facebook.” –Predictably Me: Third Impression

“Are CD’s a good substitute for firewood? Because after hearing this album I’m not sure what I’m going to do with my collection.-Predictably Me: Final Impression

I’ve been waiting quite a while for this album and I’m happy to say that it was well worth the wait! ‘Come Back As Rain’ is everything I hoped for and more. Good Old War is made up of Keith Goodwin, Daniel Schwartz, and Tim Arnold and this band should certainly make the list of any reputable music collection.

I’m basically in love with it… in fact, I may just propose to this album. But shhhhhh, don’t tell it that… I’m trying to play hard to get.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

3 Comments on “Good Old War – Come Back As Rain”

  1. SM
    March 14, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Third impression is a riot. Wish I’d written it. Accurate, too. I’m the dippiest I’ve been over a record since the first couple or three months of The National’s Boxer.

    • March 14, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

      Thanks! “I wish I had written it” is one of my favorite compliments to receive! And I completely agree with you about The National!

      Do you blog? I’m always looking for new material to follow!

  2. SM
    March 14, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

    No, no blog. I spend most of my social media time tossing off thoroughly disposable wisecracks on Twitter.

    I still love Boxer. I think a lot of people call High Violet the better record. I like High Violet, but Boxer is my favorite — it really knocked me over. In part because it was the same year The Hold Steady released Boys And Girls In America and I thought the albums sort of complemented one another. On Boys And Girls the music is mostly raucous, weekend blowout stuff, but the songs are ultimately maudlin and despairing. Boxer, the music is more complicated and melancholy, yet the songs are at least contented and sometimes vaguely hopeful. Even if it’s a false hope, like in Racing Like A Pro and Mistaken For Strangers.

Thoughts?

