The Hunger Games Soundtrack


You know your brain isn’t operating at full capacity, or even 10% capacity, when you completely forget that your pre-order of the Hunger Games Soundtrack is available for download… but alas that is the case for me this week. But hey, seeing the email reminder made for a pretty good mid-day pick-me-up! And can I get a “what-what” from everyone going to the midnight showing tonight???

I recommend getting the entire album but if you’re one of those track-by-track buyers then I’ll help you out a bit with giving you my ratings from favorite to least favorite.

#1 Come Away To The Water by Maroon5 feat. Rozzi Crane – If you stalk Hunger Games fan sites as much as I do then you’ve probably seen the video of Glen Hansard preforming this song and announcing that it was for the Hunger Games movie. He didn’t mention at the time that it would not be him performing it, but Maroon5 and Rozzi do a fantastic job! I’m a fan of just about anything that’s written by Glen Hansard and this is no exception!

#2 Nothing To Remember by Neko Case – Typical Neko… meaning fantastic.

#3  Kingdom Come by The Civil Wars – Most people have heard the single or the movie that features the very talented Civil Wars, but this song is far more to my liking (no offense to my girl Taylor)

#4 Tomorrow Will Be Kinder by The Secret Sisters – This one is very calming, I can picture it early on in the movie in scenes with the Everdeen sisters…. and that’s not just because of the band name.

#5 Lover Is Childlike by The Low Anthem – I’m not as familiar with this band as a feel like I should be. I’m pleasantly surprised by how much I like this song, but maybe I shouldn’t be!

#6 Safe & Sound by Taylor Swift feat The Civil Wars – Good choice for the single in my opinion. Good enough to pique everyone’s interest but not the absolute best on the album. Still love the song though!

#7 Rules by Jayme Dee – This song seems to stick out from the album a little style wise, but I really like it!

#8 Just A Game by Birdy – I wish Feist sang this one… but it’s still pretty good!

#9 Take The Heartland by Glen Hansard – As I said before, I would probably love just about anything from Glen, but this one isn’t quite what I expected! It’s very chaotic and stressful but there is something about it that really gets me going!

#10 Dark Days by Punch Brothers – After a couple of listens I like this track far less than I originally thought I would. I can’t place my finger on it but there is something about the song that never hooks me.

#11 Run Daddy Run by Miranda Lambert – This song seems like it would be more at home on the Brother Where Art Thou sountrack, but it adds an interesting tone to the album!

#12 Abraham’s Daughter by Arcade Fire – It kills me to put them so far down on the list… but I’ve gotta be honest, it’s not their best work.

#13 Eyes Open by Taylor Swift – To me this feels like a generic Taylor song. If you like her then you’ll probably like it. My biggest complaint is lack of an original melody and some God awful guitar tones.

#14 Daughter’s Lament by The Carolina Chocolate Drops – I’m not really a fan of this style of music… the minimalistic southern instrumentation and raw vocals just don’t do it for me. Perhaps I’ll arrive on the level of appreciating this someday but that day is not today.

#15 The Ruler & The Killer – Once again, it’s just not really my style. I have to be in the right mood for a little Cudi but this is one I just can’t picture myself ever listening to. But I bet it would be great for some scenes in the movie!

I hope all of you get a chance to give the album a spin before the movie comes out this week! Who’s going to the midnight showing??? I SO AM!!!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

4 Comments on “The Hunger Games Soundtrack”

  1. SM
    March 27, 2012 at 9:39 am #

    OK, first, go buy the last two Low Anthem records right this minute. Run, walk, crawl, whatever it takes. This would be Smart Flesh and Oh My God Charlie Darwin. Tracks of note, Boeing 737 on the former, Ticket Taker and The Horizon Is A Beltway on the latter. The earlier album What The Crow Brings is worth it, too. But, you know, if you’re trying to remain terribly au courant.

    And a total pass on The Decemberists’ track on the HG soundtrack? You don’t like it or — and I fully support this if so — you’re boycotting the song because, never mind it’s an original composition soundtrack, The Decemberists’ track on this record should have been Rox In The Box. ‘Cause it’s like they wrote that song about District 12. (And music production could have stuck Tennessee Ernie Ford’s Sixteen Tons on there as a bonus track and I wouldn’t have complained. I’m a thoroughly bluegrassed closet hillperson. I have Dillards records. Don’t judge.)

  2. March 27, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

    Thanks for the suggestions! I’ll check out those albums for sure.

    And I completely forgot about The Decemberist’s track because it isn’t listed as being on the same album (at least not on my iphone) It’s listed as a single for some reason. I think it’s perfect for district 12 and I probably need to go back and edit this post now!

  3. SM
    March 29, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

    Apropos of nothing, certainly not this post, but good stuff all the same. You’ve probably already heard it but just in case.

    http://www.amazon.com/Last-Night-On-Earth/dp/B004RDJ7XM/

    Tracks 5, 6 and 9 in particular.

Thoughts?

