Birdy – Self Titled


I know some people aren’t into cover albums… and you may be one of the “some people” that I speak of. But I would beseech you, in interest of your own capacity for living life, to give this album a chance. I totally get where “some people” are coming from because doing covers at your live show or on albums can seem like a cop out, or perhaps just filler songs due to a lack of your own material. I get it… really I do… I just happen to like covers anyway.

With all of that being said I’m particular about which cover songs I would recommend, so know that it is with some seriousness that I would recommend for all of you to spend your valuable time and potentially your money as well, on Birdy’s cover album. I find it odd that she decided to make this album her self titled album since it’s not actually her original work, but that’s neither here nor there because who cares about album names anyway?

There is a wide variety of songs covered on this album that speaks very well of her musical taste. Some of my absolute favorites are 1901 (by Phoenix), Fire & Rain (James Taylor), Comforting Sounds (Mew), and Young Blood by The Naked And Famous. There are many more songs worth mentioning from artists such as Bon Iver, Cherry Ghost, Smashing Pumpkins, Francis And The Lights, The Postal Service, Fleet Foxes, The National, and The XX. The only track on this album that is a Birdy original is Without A Sound. Without A Sound is a very low key song but it’s beautifully depressing in a way that makes me wish she did more of her own work on the album. I would also say that the song she did for the Hunger Games Soundtrack is a credit to her as well.

Enjoy!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

One Comment on “Birdy – Self Titled”

  1. bpanglossian
    May 8, 2012 at 12:36 am #

    the original song by birdy is ‘without a word’. =]
    and i am very glad that you share about birdy here , i really like this blog.

Thoughts?

