Elbow – Build A Rocket Boys!


Sometimes you don’t know what you want to listen to because you’re not experiencing any particular emotion… and sometimes you don’t know what you want to listen to because you’re feeling all of them at once. Build A Rocket Boys! is the sort of album that fits the later situation perfectly. It seems that each track starts out in enough of an ambiguous manner thus can meet you wherever you are, and even though it doesn’t go anywhere fast you soon find yourself following along.

I’ve found recently that there are a lot of bands I’ve been getting really into lately that do this very same thing… they like to take their time but they’ll eventually get you to a place that you didn’t even know you wanted to go. Maybe this is the new ambient? It really doesn’t sound ambient but emotionally it does the same thing for me. I would say it’s all in the art of the emotional build. I know this is a fairly emotional way to describe the album, but to me this album is emotional. I tend to favor the softer tracks like “Jesus Is A Rochdale Girl” and “The Night Will Always Win” but I would highly recommend the whole album. My favorite song from the album is “Lippy Kids” and actually contains the lyrics that make up the album, which is a little more creative than just having a title track.

This is the fifth full length album from this British posse all of which have made it into at least the top twenty on the UK charts. Unfortunately they haven’t experienced the same popularity here in the states but the increasing recognition of this latest musical endeavor of theirs gives me hopes for American musical tastes! The fact that Elbow has been playing together for over twenty years is apparent in the way they walk that fine line between achieving the emotion of a more ambient style and the common mistake of being boring or repetitive.

I recommended this album for fans of The National, Youth Lagoon, and M83!

“I miss your stupid face,
I miss your bad advice.”

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

No comments yet.

Thoughts?

