Happy Birthday iPod… aka The Death of the Album


Today I’m straying away from my standard album review for  a very special occasion… the iPod. In case you’re less of a nerd than me (very likely) then you may not be aware of the fact that today marks the 11th anniversary of the release of the first Apple iPod.

If you’re under the age of 15 or 16 you probably never experienced music consumerism pre-mp3player which I find mind boggling and a little sad. Don’t get me wrong. I love my ipod… and not just a little bit. Let it suffice to say that it’s one of the top 5 inanimate objects that I’d grab if my house were burning down. But even for all my love and constant use of it I’m glad it didn’t come around until several years after I really got into music. If you’re apart of generation-mp3 then you probably don’t understand why this is so let me explain this to you.

Now I don’t pretend to be older than I am and I’m sure I’ll get a million responses to this post about how I missed out on the days of 8-track, and vinyl, etc. but the medium isn’t what changed the most with the iPod but instead the invention of the playlist and/or track by track selection. I would say that the birth of the iPod was also the death of the album.

Think what you like but it’s true… in the 11 years since the popularization of the iPod we have seen the music industry turn from being album based to single based. Because when the shiny new iPod came waltzing into our lives hand in hand with iTunes for the first time it became incredibly simple to buy just a song or two from an artist instead of the entire album as in olden days. Of course the widespread use of mp3’s combined with the internet had a negative effect on bands due to music piracy… but I don’t think that’s iPod’s fault.

No matter what musical era you’re from I hope that as a music lover you stay loyal to the album and keep supporting the bands who know how to make good ones. Singles can be fun for a dance party but you’ll never find me reviewing them. I would say that all of the singles you see gracing the iTunes top 10 are much like a great first date of a relationship that goes nowhere.

It’s true that I spend may an hour creating playlists which may seem to be anti-album… but this is only because I’m obsessed with having the perfect playlist for any occasion should the need rise, when it’s just me I’m an album gal through and through. This reminds me of my “List of Perfect Albums” which you can read HERE. This was written over two years ago so in honor of loving as a whole instead of their singles I’m going to add a few albums to this very special list:

Andrew Belle‘s “The Ladder”

Mayer Hawethorne’s “How Do You Do”

Ben Howard’s “Every Kingdom”

Blind Pilot‘s “We Are The Tide”

Anias Mitchell’s “Hadestown”

Sufjan Stevens‘s “The Age Of Adz”

And with that I say Happy Birthday dearest iPod… I love you, but you’ll never change my love for albums.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

One Comment on “Happy Birthday iPod… aka The Death of the Album”

  1. Ryan
    October 24, 2012 at 11:31 pm #

    Spot on.

    I like when you write more than the regular.

Thoughts?

