Musical Advent – Day 9


Yesterday I played hooky from Church to work on some school assignments and of course I ended up drafting several blog posts. I was in the midst or writing this one when I was called away to lunch with my family and of course I forgot to post it! So here you go:

Today’s featured song is “Love Is Christmas” by Sara Bareilles. I picked this not only because I love her music in general but this song in particular strikes a chord with me. As much as I love all of the things that come with Christmas like wrapping gifts and decorating it’s important for me to remind myself that this is not what it’s all about. Of course these are things I love doing and don’t feel obligated to do them but I love the idea that simply having a season and a time of year that I can remind myself that I have far more by way of love than I could ever hope to deserve.

I’ve posted the lyrics below but some of my favorite lines are “I don’t care if the house is packed, or the strings of lights are broken” and “I don’t care if the carpet is stained, we’ve got food upon our table” mostly because every year it seems like we have more broken strands of lights than working ones and our carpet is nearly always stained. But regardless of the fact that our lives may not be “all put together” the majority of time it’s really not what matters.

So today I hope you all have a chance to take a look at all of the little things that bother you and remind yourself that it just doesn’t matter.

I don’t care if the house is packed, Or the strings of lights are broken
I don’t care if the gifts are wrapped, Or there’s nothing here to open
Love is not a toy And no paper will conceal it. Love is simply joy that I’m home.

I don’t care if the carpet’s stained, We’ve got food upon our table
I don’t care if it’s gonna rain, Our little room is warm and stable
Love is who we are And no season can contain it
Love would never fall for that

We sing Ooooooo ooooooo ooooooo
Let love lead us, Love is Christmas

Why so scared that you’ll mess it up, when perfection keeps you haunted
All we need is your best, my love That’s all anyone ever wanted
Love is how we do let no judgement over rule it Love I look to you And I sing

oooooooo ooooooooo ooooooooo Ahhhhhhh ooooooooo
Let love lead us Love is Christmas
Let love lead us Love is Christmas

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

No comments yet.

Thoughts?

