Musical Advent – Day 19


I’ve you’ve followed me here at Predictably Me for a while you may already know that I’m a huge fan of movie scores. But if you’re new around these parts I’ll let you in on a little secret… I LOVE MOVIE SCORES.

Ok now that we’ve gotten that out of the way let me just say that there are a few composers in particular that have become favorites of mine, such as Danny Elfman, John Williams, Hanz Zimmer, James Newton Howard, and of course the brilliant beyond brilliant James Horner. Recently I walking through Costco and they had The Grinch (the 2000 Jim Carrey version) playing on several of their television sets. As I was walking by I noticed the score that was playing and wondered why I had never paid much mind to it before… because within minutes I knew that it was not only very well done but that it was very likely the work of my main man James Horner. A quick google search on my iPhone confirmed this and I immediately purchased the soundtrack on amazonMP3.

And so, while I’ve actually never featured a movie score in Musical Advent I suppose there’s a first time for everything. This soundtrack feels like Christmas to me and it doesn’t need any fancy words about snow or love to do it.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

No comments yet.

Thoughts?

