The Joy Formidable – Wolf’s Law


The Joy Formidable has always been one of those bands for me that walk that hard to find line between having energy/drive and hard-core-rock. Whirring from their debut album The Big Roar is one of my favorite songs even though the guitar jam sesh at the end can tend to get to people in a hang out environment… but if you’re working out or driving with the windows down you simply can’t go wrong with that song. But I digress… Wolf’s Law, their debut album is certainly worth your time to check out, and very likely worth your money to buy.

From the haunting strings in the intro of This Ladder Is Ours to the soft melodic strings that end the album I think that this is one of their most ‘formidable’ projects yet *pun intended*. I particularly like that bass player and backing vocalist Rhydian Dafydd has more of a vocal presence on many of these songs than he did on the previous album. This album feels far more “cinematic” than their previous album and I mean that in the best way. At the moment my favorite tracks are This Ladder Is Ours, Silent Treatment, Forest Serenade, and Wolf’s Law (which is actually just a hidden track at the end of the The Turnaround).

To be honest I didn’t even know they had another album due out today but it caught my eye on the “What’s New” section of Spotify (forgive me for resorting to that but I’ve been really out of the musical loop over the holidays). Little side family note: My cousins Weston’s wife Jessie is now over 3 weeks overdue with their first born Wolf so no doubt the title particularly caught my attention. His name will be Josiah Wolf technically but who on earth is going to go by Josiah whenever you have a middle name as awesome as Wolf? But enough about me and my family…

Anyway, I recommend for lovers Metric, The Sounds, Paramore, and grunge-pop in general.

“Let’s take this walk it’s overdue.
Let’s sit and talk and slow things down.
Just be our old selves again finally.”

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Music Review

Stay Connected!

Subscribe to my RSS feed and Twitter to stay current!

No comments yet.

Thoughts?

